The house purchased in 1775 from the Czapski family, by John Uphagen as the seat of the councilor of Gdansk. The new owner and his wife could move into a new home until October 16, 1779 year. Renovation work was entrusted to John Dreyer, the work cost 22 000 florins, which was a very substantial amount for which you could buy another house. This demonstrates the richness and splendor with which the finished interior of the building.Uphagen John was married twice but had no children. To protect their property decided to create a family foundation on the principle of primogeniture, the eldest son inherits all sums of cash to pay off the rest of the children. Moreover, this house has just setting on the street long as the seat of the main heirs and reserves do not enter the interior design major changes.The building will survive until constant 80 and 90 years of the nineteenth century, when wealthy merchants from the main city began to move to a more attractive and quieter Langfuhr, and their rich houses began to transform into czynszówki. Then the apartment building as a real gem took care of the writer and pastor Walter Domanski, persuaded and wrote articles for newspapers calling for conservation of the building, especially since the owner Hans Uphagen permanentnymi struggled with financial problems, and He intended to sell the house and leaving the equipment. The widow of Hans Uphagenie signed on behalf of her son deal with city hall for hire for a period of 30 years. Restoration work was carried out in 1910-1911 after the eye of the city building inspector Richard Dahn. However, complete restoration of the building would not be possible without the help of private individuals, the city struggled with financial problems. At that man was a wealthy banker Karl Früstenberg born in Gdansk in 1850. He belonged to the social elite, he maintained direct contacts with the emperor. He supported the Berlin artists and cultural undertakings involved, do not overlook the Gdansk. Thanks to his considerable assistance Uphagen House regained its former glory, and on November 1, 1911 the museum was established here.