It was established in 1346 in order to strengthen the protection of the Western Middle Ages formed the western walls of Gdansk. The tower is covered with a characteristic cone-shaped roof. Contrasted strangely with the power of the walls, the bottom of the tower wall thickness reaches up to 4 meters. The lowest level of the tower is a magazine indicating the primary use of the tower as a redoubt adapted to a long and self-defense. After building next to the Great Armoury served as a powder magazine, and later became a store forage for horses - hence its present name. The Basztą the straw rises the main building of the Academy of Fine Arts.