sign in

Sant James Church in Gdansk






The origins of the temple at the site began in 1415, when the guild skippers in Gdansk founded the chapel and shelter for sailors. This was the first initiative in Europe, organized assistance for the people of the sea, the physical condition did not allow for further work. During the Polish-Teutonic conflict in 1431, many boaters require hospital assistance. In 1432 the decision was made to build a church at the chapel, built a building with apartments for residents. Over the years, the association has developed in his care began to also include people outside the guild. Prospective residents relinquished their goods in exchange for lifetime care. The quality of care depend on their assets. Life residents went according to strictly fixed schedule, fixed mealtimes and prayers. The initiative lasted until the nineteenth century. In later years, the church was used for other purposes. They were here: the school of navigators, stock market, art gallery, library magazine. Note the color contrast of the facade of the church and tower blocks. While the development of transport routes, the then Prussian authorities decided to demolish the gates. The church tower dates from the closed gate near St. James founded in the seventeenth century and designed by Jan Strakowski. The church is the tombstone of Paul Beneke, who during the war with England Hanseatic galley earned loot, which included, inter alia, the Last Judgment triptych by Hans Memling. The painting was donated to the Basilica of the Virgin Mary.