sign in

Sant Bridget Church in Gdansk






Originally the site of the church there was a meeting of female penitents chapel of St.. Mary Magdalene. As stated in fourteenth-century popular message, there appeared the Blessed Virgin, which gave rise to belief in the healing power of water drawn from wells located here. However, the beginning of the monastery gave the event in 1374. On the way from Rome to Vadstena in Sweden, stopped the funeral procession of the mortal remains of the founder of the Order of the Most Holy Redeemer St. Bridget of Sweden. The inhabitants of Gdansk gave a deep tribute to the deceased, whose sarcophagus with the relics placed first at St. Mary's Church, and then transferred him to the chapel penitents. Storage relics of Venerable began the great cult of St. Bridget in Pomerania. In the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, the church and the monastery was expanded existing, and in the seventeenth century was added to the body of the Gothic tower with a Baroque dome. In the nineteenth century there was a dissolution of the monastery, and in its place arose Prussian garrison prison. During the Second World War the church was seriously affected, complete the work of destruction made ​​a fire in 1957. The reconstruction was undertaken in 1970, the church has become an unofficial shrine shipbuilders. He played a major role during the strikes of August in 1980, and martial law being the mainstay of the underground Solidarity.