Fore history began in 1379, when, with the development of firearms was decided to strengthen the defense of Dlugouliczna gates leading to the main road of the city. The resulting massive tower with thick walls 5 meters from the gate Dlugouliczna shared her moat. The work of the master builder of the town led Henryk Ungeradin. With the expansion of Gdansk fortifications, it was decided to dig a moat in front of the next outer grain tower. The tower was raised to three stories of brick and of a newly created moat bridge was built, it was surrounded by a high wall which is crowned by battlements. Most ended with the passage wall and flanking it with two cylindrical towers.The tower was increased systematically in order to have a better overview on the outskirts of the complex. In the year 1506-1509 master Heinrich Hetzel raised her still visible faults. The whole was topped with a hipped roof, and the corners were set lofty towers. Turrets and roof were destroyed during the Gdańsk dispute with the newly elected Polish King Stefan Batory in 1577.With the development of military art arose in the sixteenth modern fortifications Gdansk, the band lost their medieval fore defensive function for the upland and gates were built with her bastion fortification. In 1586, Gateway has become a prison, said entrance wall was demolished and in its place stood a building where the executioner, and officiated his room had a judicial chamber. Remodeling complex, led by Antoni van Obberghen. Total given features modern, tops decorated with sculptures of Wilhelm van der Meer, the look was achieved entirely visible today.